The Shiawassee Arts Center offers

– Monthly art exhibits with “meet the artists” receptions.
– Frederick Frieseke Collection, impressionist paintings of the Owosso born artist (1874-1939).
– Artists Consignment Galleries.
– Specialty Gift Shop.
– “Holiday at the Center” unique artisan gifts, November and December.
– Public Art Sculptures Renewal, bronze by Louis Marinaro and Winged Column, bronze by Richard Hunt.

– Year-round multi-media art classes for children and adults as well as Summer Art Camps.
– The Creative Arc, an arts curriculum for young adults with developmental disabilities, produced in collaboration with The ARC Mid-Michigan.
– SMARTS (Shiawassee Mobile ART for Seniors) Program in partnership with the Shiawassee Council on Aging and supported by MCACA.
– Annual Countywide High School Scholarship Show, over $90,000 awarded to talented young area artist since 1972.

– Special events and activities including Art in the Park during Curwood Festival, Annual Art Walk, and more.
– Facility rentals for business, special events, and celebrations including weddings, showers.

                         SAC Staff


Our Staff

Piper Brewer, Executive Director

Linda Ruehle, Arts Education Director

Jennifer Ross, Exhibits Director

Cora Walby, Assistant Arts Education Director

Philip Martin-Luckhurst, Assistant Exhibits Director

JAX, Mascot


Mon – Fri
10:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Sat – Sun
12:00 PM – 3:00 PM
National Holidays

3 Floor Elevator with Ramp


206 Curwood Castle Drive, Owosso

(989) 723-8354

Shiawassee Arts Center

Mission & Vision

The purpose of the Shiawassee Arts Council is to sponsor and encourage participation and appreciation of the arts in Shiawassee County and its surrounding area. The council may research, plan, develop and present quality arts and cultural activities that educate, entertain and enhance the quality of life in our community.

SAC envisions a vibrant community where the arts inspire our innovative spirit, celebrate our cultural diversity and encourage community involvement.

Board Members

Hon. Clark Harder, President

Carrie Rathbun Hawks, President Elect

Molly Morris, Secretary

Brian Bruff, Treasurer

Bridget Bryson

Lisa Bremer- Gallinger

Linda Hill

Michael Kovich

Hon. Gerald Lostracco

Abbie Majzel

Betty McGinnis

Natalie Park

Gregory Popovitch

Steven Teich

Bob Wilcox

Connie Voight, Ex Officio

206 Curwood Castle Drive
Owosso, MI 48867

Mon-Fri | 10-5 pm
Sat & Sun | 12-3 pm

Non-Profit 501(c)3 organization
Celebrating 51st Anniversary in 2023


About Us  |  Contact Us

Privacy Policy

Proudly Supported By:



© 2021 Shiawassee Arts Center | All Rights Reserved.