Member Artists Show thru August 25

The Juror for this year’s Exhibition is Randal Crawford, a 26 year Professor of Art at Delta College. Randal holds an MFA in fibers from Cranbrook Academy of Art (1987) and a BFA in fibers from Philadelphia College of Art (1984). He also attended the Graduate Studies Program at Banff Center School in Alberta, Canada (1985). Professor Crawford continues his education through numerous
national and international conferences, ENCA Clay Conference, Photoshop World’s, Design Educators Summits and most recently studied Encaustic Painting at The New York Studio School. Randal has had numerous one-person shows throughout the nation. His original and innovative art is a part of private, corporate, and institutional permanent collections such as Dow Corning Corporation, Hemlock
Semi-Conductor, Palm Beach International Airport, Motorola International, Team One Credit Union, The Saginaw Art Museum, Temple Theatre and Northwood University. Professor Crawford has given many academic presentations as a guest artist, keynote speaker and discussion leader.

Crawford states, “I’d like to thank Karen Marumoto and the Shiawassee Arts Center for inviting me to participate as a juror and select the award winners for the 22nd Annual Shiawassee Arts Center Member Artists Show. Having never been to SAC I was blown away by the surroundings, the architecture of the center and the beautifully designed contemporary gallery. The permanent collection is outstanding. I came away with a great understanding of the history of the building, artists and town. For me, everyone in this outstanding exhibition is a winner for having the passion and dedication to create art. I was so impressed by the multitude and diversity of subject matter and mediums from paintings, drawings, textiles, ceramics, sculpture and jewelry. It was a difficult but exciting process to choose the winners from 90 works of art on display. I based my selection on creativity, techniques, craftsmanship and the artist’s conceptual approaches to the mediums used in creating their work.”

The Shiawassee Arts Center 22nd Annual Member Artists Show features a variety of multi-media artwork of nearly 100 Michigan artists June 25 through August 25.  The show is sponsored by the Schluckebier Hood Wealth Management Group of Wells Fargo Advisors and DayStarr Communications

The public is invited to meet the artists, see their work, and enjoy complimentary refreshments and music during the opening reception Sunday, June 30, 1-3pm — $500 in awards will be presented at 2pm.  The juror is Randal Crawford, Professor of Art at Delta College. Crawford holds an MFA in Fiber Art from Cranbrook Academy of Art and a BFA in Fiber Art from Philadelphia College of Art.

The wide range of mediums and styles of SAC’s member artists creates an incredibly lively and colorful display sure to impress any visitor.

Participating Artists

Bill Angus                  Flushing

Debbie Auble            Perry

Juanita Baldwin         Okemos

Janet Baugher           Owosso

Linda Beeman           Owosso

Jeanette Brayan        Flint

Anita Brett                East Lansing

Bonnie Brown           Corunna

Eldon Case                Okemos

Rebecca Case            Okemos

Dan Chrenka             Swartz Creek

Angela Clayton          Durand

Anni Crouter             Flint

Lisabeth Curnow       Holt

Jeff Deason               Owosso

Laura DeLind             Mason

David DeVoe             Grand Blanc

Kimberly DeVoe        Grand Blanc

John Diephouse         Lansing

Ruth Egnater             Okemos

Joel Ellis                    Haslett

Vicki Frappier               Flushing

Alan Friend                East Lansing

Tom Gates                 Owosso

Deb Gilbert               Owosso

Marie Gougeon         Laingsburg

Mark Green              Owosso

Marcia Guetschow    Brighton

Michael Gute            Detroit

Keith Hale                 Oxford

Angela Hamilton       Grand Blanc

Jessica Hickey           Owosso

Devon Hill                 Owosso

Barbara Hranilovich Lansing

Suzanne Hunt            East Lansing

Teresa Hunter           Okemos

Linda Justice              Perry

Lee Kronenberg        Williamston

Nancy Kronenberg    Williamston

Richard Lahmann      Owosso

Tammy LaMay          Flushing

Jann Johnson Lardie       Perry

Marie Lauer              Lansing

Marti Liddle-Lameti   Owosso

Tom Lipinski              Flushing

Frank Livingston        Owosso

Clarence Lum            Saginaw

Karen Marumoto      Owosso

Gina Matterella        Owosso

Susan McGuire          Corunna

Kim McKerracher     Goodrich

Karen Mead-Elford   Owosso

Ann Lee Merrill               Linden

Candace Miller         Lansing

Karen Kierstead Miller      Okemos

Sue Monroe              Ovid

Gary Mulnix              Owosso

Sherry Nelsen            Fenton

Susan Newcom             Corunna

Carolyn O’Connell     Owosso

Karen Koykka O’Neal Ann Arbor

Natalie Park              Owosso

Nancy Parrish            Perry

David Purdue            Owosso

Karl Racenis              Owosso

Nellann Roberts        Owosso

Jennifer Ross             Corunna

Paul Rozycki              Flint

Linda Ruehle             Owosso

Phil Ruehle                Owosso

Maureen Ryan          Lansing

Anita Saviko              Williamston

Michael Schmidt       Owosso

Joy Schroeder            East Lansing

Douglass Sherman    Owosso

Sheryl Stephens         Holt

Pooh Stevenson         Owosso

Gwen Sutton              Owosso

Rich Tesner               Flushing

Douglas Thayer         Webberville

Tom Tomasek           Ovid

Alice Tompkins          Owosso

Catherine Tonning-Popowich  Owosso

Katie Tudor               Owosso

Tammy Vandemolen Leslie

Ron Watson               Owosso

Kate Wilcox-Leigh     Williamston

Dan Williams            Owosso

Patsy Woodman        Dimondale

Xavier                        Owosso

206 Curwood Castle Drive
Owosso, MI 48867

Mon-Fri | 10-5 pm
Sat & Sun | 12-4 pm

Non-Profit 501(c)3 organization
Celebrating 49th Anniversary in 2021


About Us  |  Contact Us

Privacy Policy

Proudly Supported By:



© 2021 Shiawassee Arts Center | All Rights Reserved.