2021 Countywide High School Scholarship Show & Competition

48th Annual High School Scholarship Competition & Exhibition

For 48 years the Shiawassee Arts Council has offered scholarships to talented young art students. Since the establishment of SAC in 1972, over $85,000 in scholarships and awards have been granted to provide students in grades 9-12 with recognition and financial assistance in their artistic growth.

About the Competition and Show

April 28 – May 2, 2021
Reception & Awards Ceremony, Sunday
, May 2, 1-3pm

All students grades 9-12 in Shiawassee County, Chesaning and Ovid-Elsie are invited to participate in the Shiawassee Arts Center’s 48th Annual High School Art Scholarship Show & Competition April 28- May 2, 2021.  $2,000 in scholarship awards, including the $500 Janis Kazen Award, two $100 Liz McEwan Awards and the $100 Bethany Lardie Award will be presented at the reception, Sunday, May 2, 1-3pm.

Additional details, deadlines and registration forms are available below, at the Shiawassee Arts Center and may also be obtained from high school art instructors. Students do not need to be currently enrolled in an art class. Home school and private high school students are welcome.

Scholarship Chairperson and SAC Arts Education Director, Linda Ruehle states, “Since the establishment of SAC in 1972, more than $85,000 in scholarships and awards have been granted to provide students with recognition and financial assistance in their artistic growth. Professional artists from out of the county judge the work on originality, creativity, technical skill and presentation.” For more information or questions call (989)723-8354.

The Shiawassee Arts Center, located next to Curwood Castle in Owosso, is open Monday – Friday noon-5pm, weekends noon-4pm. The Arts Center features the artwork of local and statewide artists in eight galleries including the Frieseke Gallery and a specialty Gift Shop. The public is welcome, there is no admission charge and the facility is handicap accessible. SAC, which is celebrating its 48th anniversary in 2021, is a non-profit organization whose mission is to offer quality arts and cultural activities that educate, entertain and enrich our community.

In Memory of Dr. James McEwan

Scholarship Awards

$600 Janis Kazen Senior Award
$500 Rathbun Public Relations Award
$300 Arlie & Rosemary Edwards Award
(founders of Edwards Sign & Screen Printing)
$250 Hon. & Mrs. Clark Harder Award
$100 Michael Kovich Award
$100 Molly Tipton & Trevor Morris Award
$100 Director’s Choice Award
$100 Shiawassee Artists Guild Award
$100 Jerry Power Award
(2) $50 Bethany Lardie Awards
(6) $25 Friend of the Arts Awards

Scholarship Show Sponsored by Shattuck Specialty Advertising

The $500 Janis Kazen Senior Award was given by Maureen Gilna to Grace Fowler of Ovid-Elsie. Grace will be attending Kendall School of Art & Design in the fall. Pictured with Grace are SAC Arts Education Director Linda Ruehle and Maureen Gilna, sister of Janis Kazen for whom the award is named.

Owosso High School students, RACHAEL DAHL and SOPHIA WITTUM each received a Rosemary & Arlie Edwards Award. Rachael, a junior, was presented the $300 scholarship and Sophia, a senior, received the $200 scholarship.

206 Curwood Castle Drive
Owosso, MI 48867

Mon-Fri | 10-5 pm
Sat & Sun | 12-4 pm

Non-Profit 501(c)3 organization
Celebrating 49th Anniversary in 2021


About Us  |  Contact Us

Privacy Policy

Proudly Supported By:



© 2021 Shiawassee Arts Center | All Rights Reserved.