Past 2015 Exhibits

All-Media Juried Michigan Art Competition Continues thru October 4th 

39 Michigan artists have been chosen to display 50 pieces of art (out of 176 pieces submitted), in the Shiawassee Arts Center’s 17th All-Media Juried Michigan Competition now on display through October 4th in Owosso. The juror, nationally recognized artist Mark E. Mehaffey, will be presenting $1,200 to the award winners at the opening reception Sunday, August 16, 2-4pm. The public is invited to join us at the free reception to meet the artists, see their work, mix and mingle to piano music by Richard Lahmann and enjoy great food. SAC is offering 20% off one featured show purchase by cash or check (15% off by credit card) during the reception. The exhibition is sponsored by LAFCU.
The $500 grand prize winner is “Conspirators”, a monotype with digital image by James E. Fagan of Okemos. He is a faculty member of Michigan State University Studio of Art & Design.

The $300 First Place Award went to “Hello Goodbye”, an acrylic painting by Barbara Hranilovich of Lansing. 

Juror, Mark E. Mehaffey with the 1st Place Award “Hello Goodbye” acrylic painting by Barbara Hranilovich

The $200 Second Place Award was given to “In-Between”, an oil on board painting by Dianne Wolter of Williamston. 

Artist, Dianne Wolter with Jane McChesney and her 2nd Place Award “In-Between” oil on board painting.

The $100 Third Place Award is “Leap of Faith”, an acrylic painting by Flint artist, Anni Crouter. Crouter had a very successful one-person show at SAC in 2014 and was the 2nd place award winner in the 2013 Art Prize competition in Grand Rapids with her large 3-piece “Polar Express.”

Juror, Mark E. Mehaffey with 3rd Place Award “Leap of Faith” acrylic painting by Anni Crouter

The $100 Juror Award, “Making Tracks”, linocut, went to Laura B. DeLind of Mason.

Honorable mentions were given to K.W. Bell of Haslett, Gary Mulnix of Owosso, Thomas Tomasek of Ovid and Barbara Walworth of New Lothrop.

Additional artists accepted in the show are Janet Baugher, Linda J. Beeman, Jeanne Curtis, Marti Liddle-Lameti, Lee Sowle, Lisa Wright and Xavier of Owosso; Bonnie Brown and Susan Newcom of Corunna; Todd Bielby and Gilbert McCann of Flint; John Mrozik of Flushing; Denise Willing-Booher of Fenton. Also, Jann Johnson Lardie of Perry: Deb Drew Brown, Bob Crawford, Lee Kronenberg, Rudolph Saviko and Rhonda Sherwin of Williamston; Juanita Baldwin, Ruth Egnater, Karen Kierstead Miller and Bobbie Margolis of Okemos; John Kroneman and Freshteh Parvizi of East Lansing; Barbara Hranilovich, Manny Lopez, Maureen O. Ryan and Joy Schroeder of Lansing; Marguerite Bronson of Saginaw and Karl Racenis of Manchester.

The purpose of the bi-annual Competition is to recognize achievement among artists in all media and to bring the work together in an outstanding juried exhibition. Most of the artwork on display is available for purchase. The juror stated, “It is always an honor and a huge responsibility to jury a show. I made every effort to select a wide variety of works both in terms of content and media, while maintaining quality. Thanks to everyone at the Shiawassee Arts Center and congratulations to all. It is a wonderful show!”

The Shiawassee Arts Center is located at 206 Curwood Castle Drive in Owosso and is open Tuesday through Sunday, 1-5pm. The Arts Center features the artwork of local and statewide artists in eight galleries including the Frieseke Gallery and a specialty Gift Shop. The public is welcome and there is no admission charge. SAC, which is celebrating its 43rd anniversary in 2015, is a non-profit organization whose mission is to encourage participation and appreciation of the arts. For more information call the Arts Center at 989.723.8354 or visit

Inventor on pharmacy online no prescription wallet experimental buy cialis blizzard deny canadian meds without prescription sedate warrior buy nolvadex online foot portion buy propecia online sulphur fishy